About Us

Our local Chapter was formed in 2002. It is made up of volunteers who dedicate their time to promoting the field of landscape design in Oregon and SW Washington. APLD Oregon assists members in developing their professional skills through design-oriented programs including the following:

  • Sponsored meetings introducing our members to local green industry products and services
  • Construction site tours (site visits to landscape installations in progress to discuss building and construction methods and techniques)
  • Business development workshops and seminars to learn the latest in marketing, social media for business, organization and time-saving skills
  • Premium events (high-end design-oriented programs intended to develop landscape design skills and to introduce our members to the best talents and ideas in our industry)

We also work to educate the public about the benefits of hiring professional landscape designers, and to promote the Certification process to our members and to the public.

Our Chapter membership includes Certified members, Associate members (non-Certified landscape designers) and Allied members (working in related green industries, such as nurseries, landscape contracting, supplies, etc.).

Our members agree to abide by APLD’s Standards of Practice which promote the highest degree of professionalism in the landscape design field.

Clement Walsh President Clement Walsh clement@clementwalsh.com
Marilyn Alexander Vice President Marilyn Alexander marilyn.alexander.ld@gmail.com
Rachel Monteiro Secretary Rachel Monteiro pdxrach@yahoo.com
Adriana Berry, APLD Treasurer Adriana Berry, APLD plantpassiondesign@gmail.com
Judy Kokesh Programs Committee Judy Kokesh jkokesh@comcast.net
Janette Gallagher Programs Committee Janette Gallagher jlglandscapes@gmail.com
Lynn Wolfstone Programs Committee Lynn Wolfstone lwolfstone@yahoo.com
Amy Whitworth Advocacy Chair Amy Whitworth plan-it-earth@comcast.net
Vanessa Gardner Nagel, APLD Membership Chair Vanessa Gardner Nagel, APLD vanessa@seasonsgardendesign.com
Bonnie Bruce Community Outreach Chair Bonnie Bruce bonnie@celilogardens.com
Debra Berger 2015 Co-President Debra Berger info@gathergardens.com
Barbara Simon, APLD 2015 Co-President Barbara Simon, APLD bsimonlandscapes@comcast.net
Julie Williams Webmaster Julie Williams williams.ju09@gmail.com